Excellence in School Nursing

School Nurse of the Year and School Nurse Administrator of the Year:


To publicly recognize school nurses from Indiana by annually honoring one School Nurse of the Year and one School Nurse administrator of the Year who have demonstrated excellence in school nursing practice and leadership in school health.


***For these awards, must be a member in good standing of IASN/NASN.
***School Nurse Administrator awardee must have a BSN or higher in nursing to qualify for the award.

School Nurses selected for either award will be required to submit a statement of accomplishments (300 words or less) and submit a digital photograph of (300 dpi/inch minimum)

Any questions: Contact Deb Robarge at

 NOMINATIONS now CLOSED - thanks to all who nominated a deserving nurse - the nominators will be notified soon!


2023 Awardees:

 Ryan Kandel - Indiana School Nurse of the Year
Ryan Kandel RN, Sycamore School, School Nurse of the Year.

Esther Moeller BSN RN NCSN, Perry Township Schools, School Nurse Administrator of the Year.

Past honorees: IASN_Award_History.pdf

Please notify Deb Robarge at if you have any additional dates or names to add - Thank you.

K. A. Coffman Friend of School Nursing Award


The K. A. Coffman Friend of School Nursing Award is presented annually to recognize non-school nursing individuals or groups who have made significant contributions to the profession of school nursing and to the health of Indiana’s children.

K. A. Coffman was a school nurse for 32 years in the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation. She served the last three years as the director of health services. K. A. was active in the IASN as well as the NASN.  She was relentless in her advocacy for the health of children in Bartholomew County, in Indiana, and across the country. K. A. spent hours of her time, at her own expense, to help children in need, and the annual award celebrates that spirit in her honor.