Award Recipients for the 2016-2017 School Year

School nurses must be IASN/NASN members to qualify for School Nurse of the Year or Administrator of the Year.

IASN’s outgoing president, Leisa Prasser, presented Karen Anderson with the School Nurse of the Year award. Karen is a nurse with Scott County District 2.


Mary Hess of Fort Wayne Community Schools was recognized as Indiana’s School Nurse Administrator of the Year.



K..A. Coffman Friend of School Nursing Award


The K.A. Coffman Friend of School Nursing Award is presented annually to recognize non-school nursing individuals or groups who have made significant contributions to the profession of school nursing, and to the health of Indiana’s children.

K.A. Coffman was a school nurse for 32 years in the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation.  She served the last three years as the director of health services.  K.A. was active in the IASN as well as the NASN.  She was relentless in her advocacy for the health of children in Bartholomew County, in Indiana, and across the country.  K.A. spent hours of her time, at her own expense, to help children in need, and the annual award celebrates that spirit in her honor.

The 2016-2017 recipient of the Coffman Award is the Lions Club of Indiana. The Lions have screened the vision of thousands of Indiana children.